Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

Paavo Järvi at the Concertgebouw

Opening the concert with Mozart's Piano Concerto in C-minor, Víkingur Ólafsson makes his Royal Concertgebouw debut with the Concertgebouw Orchestra under the baton of Estonian-American conductor Paavo Järvi. Masterfully weaving together texture and colour, Ólafsson brings his own magic and character to the piece. With his nuanced variations of timbre and dynamics from whispering virtuosic runs, to powerful chords, to light and playful melodic sections, Ólafsson creates an exciting palatte of sound that you'll find being drawn into constantly. In between these two monumental works, Ólafsson creates a little space for the listener with a solo piano arrangement of part of Bach's Organ Sonata No. 4. Creating a pocket of intimacy in bewteen the Mozart and Schumann, Ólafsson serenades the audience with a subtle, yet powerful rendition of the Adagio. Following Ólafsson's moving piano solo, the orchestra returns with Schumann's Third Symphony, "Rhenish". Inspired by a trip to Rhineland with his wife, Clara, Schumann composed this symphony, emmulating their euphoriuc experiences of the place and reflecting parts of the journey. This exciting five-movement symphony incorporates folksong-like melodies against thick textural landscapes. Throughout the work, Schumann transports us to different scenes in nature and architectural wonders like the Cologne Cathedral which is rumoured to have inspired the fourth movement.

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 14 of 14 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Last page loaded, no next page available