Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

BBC Proms: The 8 Seasons of Buenos Aires

The seventeenth century meets the twentieth century in this special performance from the BBC Proms. Acknowledged as the master of Tango, Argentine composer Astor Piazzolla’s ‘The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires’ were written as four independent pieces between 1965 and 1969, and were collated in the 1990s by Russian arranger Leonid Desyatnikov. Scored for a quintet of violin, piano, electric guitar, double bass and bandoneon, Piazzolla’s work is a whimsical travelogue of his beloved city and is redolent of Vivaldi’s legendary ‘The Four Seasons’ through a string of musical quotations. Though separated across time, these two works form a delightful pair in this concert by the Academy of St Martin in the Fields under musical director Joshua Bell, who ‘played with his customary sweetness of tone throughout’ (The Guardian).

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 15 of 46 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Load Next Page