Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

Beethoven 9, Circa and Cheetham

Beethoven’s Ode to Joy: a monumental masterwork that has astounded for almost two centuries. In this first-time collaboration between the MSO and Circa Contemporary Circus, ten world-class circus artists under the direction of Yaron Lifschitz will present Beethoven’s music in its physical form with emotionally charged choreography intricately woven to reflect the score. Extreme skill and dramatic acrobatics play out in this grand celebration of humanity, where the lines between movement, music, dance and theatrics are blurred and boundaries are pushed. Latvian soprano Maija Kovaļevska joins Australian soloists mezzo-soprano Jacqueline Dark, tenor Paul O’Neill and bass Warwick Fyfe, as well as the mighty MSO Chorus for the final movement of the remarkable Ninth Symphony. This revolutionary world-first staging of Beethoven 9 by a circus company is performed alongside a world premiere by revered Australian composer Deborah Cheetham AO, her Dutala, star filled sky, a work created in response to Beethoven’s Ninth. Written for symphony orchestra and chorus, Cheetham draws on the soaring emotions and spirit of Beethoven’s work to complement the classic in original and innovative style. PROGRAM CHEETHAM Long Time Living Here* CHEETHAM Dutala, star filled sky BEETHOVEN Symphony No.9 Ode to Joy^ ARTISTS Benjamin Northey, conductor Deborah Cheetham, soprano* Maija Kovaļevska, soprano^ Jacqueline Dark, mezzo-soprano^ Paul O'Neill, tenor^ Warwick Fyfe, bass Circa Contemporary Circus Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus*^

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 15 of 43 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Load Next Page