Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

Rautavaara: Angel of Light

A name you might not be familiar with, Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928 – 2016) is widely recognised as the most popular Finnish composer since Jean Sibelius. Rautavaara composed prolifically in almost every form and style of classical music, using lush soundscapes in a careful balance between originality and a more traditional Romantic style. His Seventh Symphony explores the Finnish tradition of mysticism in music. Moody with swirling strings and burnished brass, Angel of Light – inspired by childhood dreams and revelations – premiered in 1994. Be the among the first to hear a brand-new work for two horns and orchestra by Melbourne-based composer May Lyon, featuring the MSO’s own Nicolas Fleury and Rachel Shaw. PROGRAM SIBELIUS Finlandia LYON Opal: Concerto for Two Horns RAUTAVAARA Symphony No.7: Angel of Light FEATURING Benjamin Northey, conductor Nicolas Fleury, horn Rachel Shaw, horn Finlandia Op.26 by Jean Sibelius is used by permission of Breitkopf & Haertel, Wiesbaden, Germany. Symphony No.7 Angel of Light by Einojuhani Rautavaara is used by permission of Hal Leonard Australia Pty. Ltd.

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 15 of 46 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Load Next Page