Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

Sophie Rowell plays Sutherland

Combining sweeping lyrical gestures with striking harmonies, Margaret Sutherland’s Violin Concerto is a work that’s both innovative and affable, but has been rarely seen since its premiere in 1954. The ‘rediscovery’ of this brilliant work by the ‘mother of modern Australian music’ is a great opportunity for the MSO to showcase the extraordinary talent of MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell. Through her career, MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell has become a favourite soloist, chamber musician and principal orchestral violinist on all the country’s major concert stages. She has travelled the world playing principal violin with the Scottish & Mahler Chamber Orchestras and the Vancouver, Sydney and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras. This program is bookended by two enchanting works: Sibelius' powerful Finlandia and Ravel’s Mother Goose ballet suite – an exquisite orchestral depiction of the famous childrens’ tales. PROGRAM SIBELIUS Finlandia SUTHERLAND Concerto for Violin and Orchestra* RAVEL Mother Goose: Suite FEATURING Benjamin Northey, conductor Sophie Rowell, violin* Finlandia Op.26 by Jean Sibelius is used by permission of Breitkopf & Haertel, Wiesbaden, Germany. Concerto For Violin And Orchestra’ by Margaret Sutherland licensed courtesy of BMG AM Pty Ltd.

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 15 of 46 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Load Next Page