Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Unsuk Chin's Violin Concerto No. 2 with Leonidas Kavakos and the London Symphony Orchestra

Filmed live from Barbican Hall, this broadcast features acclaimed violinist Leonidas Kavakos as he joins forces with Sir Simon Rattle for the world premiere of Korean composer Unsuk Chin’s Violin Concerto No. 2 ‘Shards of Silence’. Written specially for Kavakos’s ‘burningly intense’ musical sensibility, Chin’s work is a tour de force that reinforces her reputation as one of the world’s most formidable composers of contemporary music. Chin’s concerto is followed by two defining works from the 1920s: Sibelius’s Symphony No. 7, which broke new ground in its experimental approach to form, and Bartok’s Suite to the pantomime ballet The Miraculous Mandarin, which tests the limits of orchestral virtuosity in a fiendish tale of intrigue and obsession. This release from the London Symphony Orchestra coincides with the LSO’s acclaimed 2023 Australian tour and the signing of the landmark MSO-LIVE partnership.

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 15 of 43 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Load Next Page