Skip to collection list Skip to video grid
Give the gift of MSO.LIVE
Skip to collection list Skip to video grid

New Releases

Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty Suite

A few weeks after the 1890 premiere of his second ballet, The Sleeping Beauty, Tchaikovsky wrote to his friend Pyotr Jurgenson: "In view of the fact that you are pleased with all the music for The Sleeping Beauty, what about making either one or even two suites from it?" Tchaikovsky’s idea proved a hit. The resulting Suite, published as Op. 66 several years after his death, is a sublime distillation of Tchaikovsky’s tale of the beautiful Princess Aurora, cursed into a hundred-year sleep by the evil fairy Carabosse. Filled with passion and drama, the Suite features unforgettable moments including the stormy Introduction, Puss-in-Boots and the White Cat, and the sprawling final waltz which has endeared and entertained for generations. Experience the master of Russian ballet up close in this lavish MSO performance under Chinese conductor Darrell Ang.

Read More
Read Less


View more in
New Releases

Currently loaded videos are 1 through 15 of 46 total videos.

First page loaded, no previous page available
Load Next Page